Preview: Crash

Following an album like Under the Table and Dreaming is no easy feat, but the Dave Matthews Band certainly proved its dominance with¬†Crash.¬†Technically, it’s the band’s third album, but it feels like the second. For some reason, Remember Two Things is often forgotten as an album, allowing people to believe Under the Table and Dreaming came first. In any event… Crash was released in 1996, promptly 2 years after UTTAD (you’ll soon see a pattern here). After fully embracing this album, it became clear that the Dave Matthews Band was on to something pretty great.


I mentioned the “Big 3” in the initial¬†UTTAD post. This is the second installment in that collection. Many of the tracks on this album are regarded as fan-favorites, and classics that still receive as much admiration in concert today as any other songs. To avoid repeating myself… let’s get into the track list.

  1. So Much to Say
  2. Two Step
  3. Crash Into Me
  4. Too Much
  5. #41
  6. Say Goodbye
  7. Drive In Drive Out
  8. Let You Down
  9. Lie in Our Graves
  10. Cry Freedom
  11. Tripping Billies
  12. Proudest Monkey

If you know anything about the Dave Matthews Band, you’ll know that those are 12 solid songs. Two of those are HUGE crowd-pleasers to this day, including one that continues to receive chants from eager fans. There are also a few classics in here, including a female-favorite (“Crash Into Me”).

I wont spend too much time now going into details of each song, but I will say… Crash is one of my favorite albums, contains my hands-down favorite DMB song, and really displays the range of the band. From the beginning of the album (with “So Much to Say” and “Two Step” setting a fast-pace start to the album)… to the end (“Proudest Monkey”)… and everything in between (“Let You Down” and “Lie in Our Graves”), this album has it all.

Without further adieu… the long wait is over. I’m back.

Next Song: “So Much to Say”



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s