Preview: Remember Two Things

The first album released by the Dave Matthews Band was Remember Two Things back in 1993. This album is comprised of ten songs, three of which are live from some of the band’s first concerts, the other seven are recordings of songs that would go on to be on other studio albums (see: “Satellite”) or songs that would go on to be in-concert stars (see: “One Sweet World” and “The Song That Jane Likes”).

All in all, this album is a good showing of DMB’s early material, and it is the product of my first ever review. Now, to properly conduct this review, I will have to listen to the song several times, understand it, and really grasp it. As I have stated many times before, my opinion may not be right, may not match up with yours… however, as the saying goes, “to each his own.”

The track list for Remember Two Things is as follows:

  1. Ants Marching (live)
  2. Tripping Billies (live)
  3. Recently (live)
  4. Satellite
  5. One Sweet World
  6. The Song That Jane Likes
  7. Minarets
  8. Seek Up
  9. I’ll Back You Up
  10. Christmas Song

As would only make sense, seeing as it is the biggest hit DMB has to offer, I will be doing my first review on “Ants Marching.” In order to keep with the education aspect of my endeavor, upon the first appearance of each song, I will give a brief description of the meaning behind the song (given there is one) so the lyrics may make more sense.

Now, I wont transcribing the lyrics for the entire song, per say, but I will be pulling sections out in my reviews to discuss them. I will, however, provide links to all lyrics as well as live performance statistics. Thankfully, the fine people at DMB Almanac keep those things in order.

On a final note, for fun, if you look into the album artwork for Remember Two Things, you will see the confusion that is a magic eye 3-D image challenge. I tried it out, so you CAN see it on this version I’ve posted. If you can’t figure out what it is… you will have to wait until my last review of the album to find out the answer.

One response to “Preview: Remember Two Things

  1. Good job papa! I love you 🙂

Leave a Reply

