Before These Crowded Posts

DMB World,

I am on of the millions upon millions of Dave Matthews Band fans in the world. My opinion may not be as refined as some who have had a greater opportunity to explore and expand their DMB experience. I have been blessed with the opportunity to have my fair share of encounters with the band and will listen to the music they have left behind until the day I die.

There are a lot of ‘experts’ on the band and people who think they know or may know everything there is to know. I am telling you right now, I am not one of those people. If this has caused you to steer away from this blog for the future, then I apologize, but I’m all about being up front here. I have a precise goal in mind with this blog.

I want to not only expand my knowledge of the band by looking deeper and exploring more than I ever have, but I want to further educate myself and whoever chooses to read this as well. I’m sure there are some people out there who like DMB, but just don’t know too much. Maybe there’s people that love him, like me, and want to know more. My goal is to educate myself and you, the reader, as well as broaden our horizons on my favorite band, and arguably one of the best.

What I plan to do here is take my DMB catalog, which is currently at 1,511 songs as I create this blog, and dissect it. I am going to go album by album, song by song, and give my humbled opinion about it all. I am strictly sticking to the studio-recorded albums and the official live-release albums. This will cut the catalog for this blog down to 809 songs. However, another live album is on its way (Dave Matthews & Tim Reynolds Live in Las Vegas), so that total will rise. If this blog goes well enough, and after those 800+ posts, I may dive into the bonus disc area, but that’s a different story for a different day.

I look to have fun with this, and every day wont necessarily be a post about an album song. If something is on my mind, I’ll write about it. If something happens, I’ll write about it, because I can easily pick up where I left off. You’ll get the picture.

I strongly encourage feedback as well, so please don’t be afraid. If you disagree with me, let me know. If you agree, tell me that too. If you just like to read… then go for it. This is just as much for me as it is for you, so I wont be offended either way.

Leave a Reply

